Book Cover
Title The Book of Dragons
Series ---
Author E. Nesbit
Cover Art ---
Publisher Watermill Press - 1987
First Printing ---
Category Children
Warnings None

Main Characters


Main Elements Dragons, Gryphons, Pegasus, Manticore, Cockatrice
Website Available at Project Gutenberg

  • The Book of Beasts
  • Uncle James, or the Purple Stranger
  • The Deliverers of their Country
  • The Ice Dragon, or Do As You Are Told
  • The Island of the Nine Whirlpools
  • The Dragon Tamers
  • The Fiery Dragon, or the Heart of Stone and the Heart of Gold
  • Kind Little Edmund, or the Caves and the Cockatrice

Here is an exciting collection of stories about dragons - those fascinating creatures of myth and legend.

In The Book of Dragons you'll find daring heroes, magical kingdoms, thrilling adventures - and all kinds of dragons!

Some of the dragons are friendly, others are quite dangerous. But all the stories are sure to give you hours of reading pleasure.

This is a collection of eight short stories written in the 19th century Britain. These are classic tales where naughty children get gobbled up by nasty dragons, and good children save their towns from hungry serpents. Not like modern stories which tend to be "realistic", these are british fairy tales where bad dragons, are very very bad, and a child can rescue England by turning on a faucet in a hidden room. And of course, if somebody gets eaten, they almost always find a way out of the dragon's belly.

I don't know if older children will be particularly impressed by these rather ridiculous stories, but smaller children should enjoy them very much.

Posted: May 2003


Background, images and content (unless otherwise noted) are SunBlind
Do not use without permission.